Brookfield, New Fairfield town hall projects among several in Danbury area to earn state grants

Several Danbury area towns received grants for infrastructure improvement projects as part of $11 million in funding the state announced on Monday. Bethel, Bridgewater, Brookfield, New Fairfield, New Milford, Newtown, Ridgefield, Roxbury, Sherman, Southbury and Washington are among the 94 towns to earn these grants, which are being awarded for the first time since 2016 as part of the Small Town Economic Assistance Program, known as STEAP. The governor said he reinstated the program with the goal of boosting local economies and helping in towns’ responses to the coronavirus pandemic. A special COVID-19 provision is expected to support towns with expenditures related to their ongoing response to the pandemic, including for new construction, expansion, renovation or replacement of existing facilities, the governor’s office said.

Share This Article: